Skip to content

I wish living was more like drawing

May 12, 2011

I had a totally rotten day today. Steam-pressure-stress type of day. Luckily, I was able to divert my attention into drawing and listening to James Herriot on audiotape.  Very comforting! 🙂

Apparently I’m not alone in my audiobook-while-drawing indulgence, as I found out from Jesse’s post on this topic.  I find that listening to a story while I draw sort of tangles that story into my drawing – I can remember what parts of the story I was listening to by looking at the bits of drawing I was working on at the time.  Creates a strange sort of combination, my own Antjie Donder character evoking bits of “Let Sleeping Vet’s Lie”.  🙂

Here is a close up of the front of Antjie’s coat.  She is insisting on turning out far more genteel in as a drawing that she was as either a doll or a story:

I’m not sure what to put in her pocket.  She already has a shopping bag with a doll and a dead pigeon in it, an old telephone and some tin cans in her handbag.  But what would she have in her pocket?  Something normal like a comb?  It has to be something fairly flat to fit into that pocket…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

