Skip to content

UN-official poster series

May 5, 2011
About a year ago, I discovered a new way of printing in colour: STENCIL! It works a bit like a xerox machine, printing only one colour at a time. When the second layer of colour goes on, its normal that the paper may shift a little. It’s impossible to get each page to correspond with the colour outlay. I welcome the imperfections of this technique!
 

CACA SECA

CACA SECA was my first poster, added as a center-fold in the Amsterdam Comic Guerilla publication: CACA SECA (literally means DRY POO). A selection of anarchist stories by artists Sandra Little Starman, Pepino and myself. Our comix were translated into Spanish especially for the Ficomic Festival in Barcelona.
 
 

YPA

 

My second attempt at a stencilled poster became more experimental, adding extra colour. The event was the Haarlem Stripdagen, hosted in the Netherlands. One of my favourite comic events as it takes place outside (usually with good weather in June) and has a section of stalls for the Small-Press. Each year the festival has a theme, in 2010 it was the introduction of east-european comic artists, such as Edik Katukhin and Ada Buchholc. To accomodate the theme, I included some Russian in my poster: YPA means cheers!

GRNNGN

 

The third poster, getting more experimental with rastering and colour schemes, is an ode to the Kunst & Stripbeurs in Groningen, the Netherlands. I was determined to show some lesser-known facts about the city of Groningen; the lower half of the poster depicts the “Dark Side of Groningen” such as punk festivals and late-night bars.. When there’s no more room in Hell, the dead drink in Groningen!

The fourth in the stencil series will be my poster for the Grahamstown Arts Festival! WOP WOP! I’ve been doing some research and checking the programme book for interesting acts to highlight… I can’t disclose all my information for this poster just yet, but here’s a little sneak peak at one of the artists featured:

SKETCH

 
 
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 6, 2011 7:58 am

    Very exciting stuff!

Leave a Reply

