Skip to content

Travel diary

April 30, 2011

I just came back from three weeks in New York / Philadelphia / Baltimore / Washington / Beacon / Poughkeepsie where I did a few murals (pictures soon) and held a couple of lectures. I also kept a visual diary of places I visited, and since that is what I’d like to do as a workshop when I visit Grahamstown – a walking drawing class – I thought it would be appropriate to show you guys the results in a few quick snaps. Enjoy!

Backyard in Brooklyn, NY

Street view in Manhattan, NY

Laundry in Williamsburg, NY

Bar on South Street, Philadelphia

Rooftop on Pine Street, Philadelphia

Harbour in Antwerp – snuck this one in…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 10:43 am

    Love these … I once met an artist who told me she tries not to take photographs of places she visits as this is too quick and she doesn’t really look at what’s in front of her … she has a sketch book and rather draws sketches of places … she said she remembers them better by doing this.

    By the way I have sourced some hand made sketch books for the Co/Mix shop …

  2. willemsamuel permalink
    May 4, 2011 11:04 am

    Feels like I’m missing places that I’ve never even been to. Thanks!!!

  3. May 4, 2011 2:11 pm

    ‘Bar on South Street’ a personal favourite. Great work.

  4. May 4, 2011 7:25 pm

    Thanks so much, all! Hope to make a big journal in Grahamstown…

  5. May 19, 2011 2:44 pm

    I love your visual travel diary and I love Philly!

Leave a Reply

