Skip to content

Hands, heads and feet hot out of the oven

March 1, 2011
tags:

I’m going to cheat with my first “work in progress” post in the Comix blog by posting some wip images of work that is already complete 🙂

I’ll be exhibiting some figurines. Dolls, actually.  Why do I feel so self conscious about calling them dolls?  Anyway, this post shows how I made their heads, hands and feet. I used polymer clay, fantastic stuff that allows you to sculpt very fine detail and bake in a home oven at a comparatively low temperature. Here is a batch of body parts emerging from the oven.  Apologies for the poor image quality!

The clay I used is called “Super Sculpey”  –  you can read more about it here . It’s great to work with , very soft, and holds a nice sharp edge for detail work. It does not shrink when you fire it and  you can add on bits and re-fire them again.  And you can carve it too, once it’s fired.

You can also paint it – I used oil paint, as you can see from this rather later work in progress image of “Benjamin”.
Each of my characters was based on a story .  In some cases, I wrote the story first and in others, the story came after I completed the doll.  But I’ll write more about the narrative side of my project in a future post.  Watch this space!  🙂
Masha du Toit
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 7:42 am

    Hi Masha, congrats for being the first artist to post. Andy, Lieve, Pete and I were having a Comix Meeting at Lieve’s house last night when we saw your post and it was very exciting. That Skulpey clay sounds interesting. We’ll have to chat sometime about the word ‘doll’ as we have also been encouraged to use it with Woo-men but I have shied away. ~ Elaine

  2. March 2, 2011 3:42 pm

    Thanks Elaine.
    I find the difference between a doll and a figurine or sculpture so interesting. Dolls inhabit a unique space for me, closer to living things, maybe?

Leave a Reply

